Do you need help? Please contact our support team from 9 to 17 CET via

PressClub Canada · Article.

MINI Canada announces incentive program supporting two Canadian motorsport series.

Contingency Award Program to be offered to MINI competitors in the 2012 Canadian Touring Car Championship and 2012 Targa Newfoundland.


Press Contact.

Robert Dexter
BMW Group

Tel: +1-905-428-5447
Fax: +1-905-428-5086

send an e-mail


Attachments(1x, ~105.64 KB)
Photos(6x, ~24.49 MB)

Other Languages.

Richmond Hill, ON. MINI Canada announced today that it will support MINI motorsports competitors across the country through all-new contingency programs. Canadian racers racing a MINI in the Canadian Touring Car Championship (CTCC), including the all-new B-Spec class, and MINI entrants in the 2012 Targa Newfoundland will have the opportunity to win cash prizes.

"MINI’s motorsport heritage is impressive and has been part of the brand’s DNA since the 60’s – with wins in big events such as the Rally Monte Carlo, Targa Newfoundland and most recently the Dakar Rally, as well as track racing in MINI CHALLENGE events in Europe and the CTCC. We want to recognize and foster the passion and success for MINI motorsport in Canada and continue building that legacy,” said Adam Shaver, Director of MINI Canada. “To show our support, we have launched a significant contingency program in Canada for 2012."

For the Canadian Touring Car Championship, MINI Canada will pay contingency awards for 1st, 2nd and 3rd in each points-paying race in the Championship. Additionally, MINI Canada will reward championship-winning drivers in the Touringand B-Spec classes during the 2012 CTCC season.

The contingency payout structure will reward first, second- and third-place finishers in each race in the Touring class, as follows: 



1st Place  

2nd Place

3rd Place

Cash Award

$ 1,000

$ 750

$ 500

Touring Class Championship Bonus: $ 5,000



In the all-new B-Spec class, the contingency payout structure will reward first, second- and third-place finishers in each raceas follows:


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place

Cash Award

$ 500

$ 300

$ 150

B-spec Driver Championship Bonus: $ 3,000


“MINIs are one of the mostpopular cars with CTCC fans and they are always very competitive,” states John Bondar, President of Canadian Touring Car Championship. “I am proud to welcome MINI Canada as a contingency partner of CTCC and look forward to seeing more MINIs on the podium in 2012.”

In addition, MINI Canada is pleased to include Targa Newfoundland in this program, recognizing its 10 year history in Targa competition and the many MINIs participating in this exciting and exacting rally:



1st Place in Open Class

1st  Place in Modern Class

1st Place in Grand Touring Class

Cash Award

$ 3,000

$ 3,000

$ 3,000


MINI Competitors in these series can access detailed information on the MINI Contingency Award Program by contacting:


BMW Group in Canada

BMW Group Canada, based in Richmond Hill, Ontario, is a wholly-owned subsidiary of BMW AG and is responsible for the distribution of BMW luxury performance automobiles, Sports Activity Vehicles, Motorcycles, and MINI.  BMW Group Financial Services Canada is a division of BMW Group Canada and offers retail financing and leasing programs and protection products on new and pre-owned BMW and MINI automobiles, as well as retail financing for new and pre-owned BMW Motorcycles. A total network of 44 BMW automobile retail centres, 20 BMW motorcycle retailers, and 29 MINI retailers represents the BMW Group across the country.



For more information, please contact:

Barb Pitblado, Director, Corporate Communications, (905) 428-5005).

Rob Dexter, Product Specialist

BMW Group Canada, (905) 428-5447.

Ina Mundy, MINI Brand Communications Manager, (905) 428-4742.

Article Offline Attachments.

Article Media Material.

My.PressClub Login

BMW Group Streaming.


Frankfurt. 12. September.
Here you will see the highlights of the BMW Group press conference.

open streaming site

Latest Facts & Figures.

The All-New BMW X4 M40i.
Thu Oct 01 00:01:00 CEST 2015
The all-new 2016 BMW 7 Series.
Wed Jun 10 19:30:00 CEST 2015
BMW M Award 2014: Marc Marquez wins the exclusive BMW M4 Coupe.
Wed Nov 12 18:17:09 CET 2014
Awards Corporate
Show all

Add your filter tags.

Press Release
Press Kit
Fact & Figures
Submit filter
Clear all