BMW Corporate Communications



DTM

BMW facts and figures since the DTM comeback in 2012.

Hockenheim (DE), 16th October 2016. Another extremely successful DTM season drew to a close for BMW Motorsport in Hockenheim (DE). Thanks to Marco Wittmann (DE) the drivers' title went to Munich (DE) for the sixth time. With this victory, BMW continued its success story in the most fiercely contested touring car series in the world. Overall, this makes it 73 wins, 56 pole positions, 84 fastest race laps and 252 podium positions for the brand in 265 DTM races since 1984.

An overview of the most important facts and figures from the 2016 season and the five years since the return to the DTM.

2016 season.

At the age of 26 years and 327 days, Wittmann is the youngest ever two-time DTM champion.

Wittmann is the first BMW driver to win the DTM drivers' championship twice.

Apart from Wittmann, no driver has ever managed to win their second title in their fourth year of the DTM.

Only Bernd Schneider (DE, 5) and Klaus Ludwig (DE, 3) have won more driver titles than Wittmann.

BMW Motorsport celebrated four wins in the 2016 season, which have all gone to BMW Team RMG.

There was twice as much reason to celebrate at the race weekend in Spielberg (AT), at which BMW won both races. Wittmann's victory on Saturday was the 70th win in BMW's 250th DTM race. Then on Sunday his team-mate Timo Glock (DE) crossed the finish line as the winner.

In addition to four wins, BMW also claimed six pole positions in 2016. Wittmann set the fastest time in qualifying at the Red Bull Ring (Saturday), in Moscow (RU, Sunday) and at the Nürburgring (DE, Saturday). Tom Blomqvist (GB) of BMW Team RBM started from first on the grid at the Norisring (DE, Sunday) and António Félix da Costa (PT) of BMW Team Schnitzer was fastest in both qualifying sessions at the season finale in Hockenheim (DE).



BMW Corporate Communications



A BMW driver has been on the podium 16 times in the 2016 season. As well as Wittmann and Glock, Blomqvist, Félix da Costa, Augusto Farfus (BR), Maxime Martin (BE) and Bruno Spengler (CA) also made it into the top three. This means that each of the four BMW teams was represented in the podium rankings at least once.

Since the DTM comeback in 2012.

BMW has provided the DTM champion for the third time in five years. Bruno Spengler topped the drivers' standings in 2012 and Marco Wittmann claimed the number one spot in 2014.

In the "old" DTM BMW had already claimed three drivers' titles: with Volker Strycek (DE) in 1984, with Eric van de Poele (BE) in 1987 and with Roberto Ravaglia (IT) in 1989.

Since the comeback in 2012, BMW has won at least one title each year. In 2012 it won the triple of the drivers', team and manufacturers' titles. Another manufacturers' title followed in 2013, as well as victories in the drivers' and team standings in 2014 and renewed success among the manufacturers in 2015.

BMW has won eight of a possible 15 titles since the comeback – more than any other manufacturer.

BMW has a total of 24 victories since the return to the DTM.

No other manufacturer has started a race from first on the grid more often than BMW: The brand has racked up 26 pole positions.

More information.

You can find the latest BMW Motorsport media information, the DTM Press Kit, and copyright-free images for editorial purposes online at www.press.bmwgroup.com/global.

BMW Motorsport on the web.

Website: www.bmw-motorsport.com Facebook: www.facebook.com/bmwmotorsport Instagram: www.instagram.com/bmwmotorsport YouTube: www.youtube.com/bmwmotorsport Twitter: www.twitter.com/bmwmotorsport Google+: www.plus.google.com/+bmwmotorsport

