BMW

Corporate Communications



2014 BMW Motorsport Season Review

Finland's Markus Palttala wins the 2014 BMW Sports Trophy – Victory for Adrenalin Motorsport in the Team competition.

Munich (DE), 5th December 2014. BMW Motorsport has once again continued its long-standing tradition of honouring the season's most successful privateer BMW drivers and teams. This year's BMW Motorsport Season Review was held at the BMW Driving Academy in Maisach (DE), near Munich (DE). In doing so, BMW Motorsport recognised the BMW Sports Trophy's top scorers for the 53rd time. The winners were presented with their trophies by BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt.

"To a certain degree, the BMW Sports Trophy epitomises the DNA of BMW in motorsport," said Marquardt. "For over 50 years these competitions have allowed us to acknowledge the most successful privateer teams and drivers, who enjoy success around the world with BMW racing cars, thus making them excellent ambassadors for our brand. In 2014, our team monitored and recorded the results of the BMW drivers and teams in a total of 60 racing series and events. This amounted to an incredible 6,000 individual results from 1,400 drivers. It is impressive how many drivers and teams around the world put their faith in BMW cars."

First place in the 2014 Drivers' Competition went to Markus Palttala (FI). He enjoyed many successful outings in the BMW Z4 GTD and BMW Z4 GT3 over the course of the season, including in the United SportsCar Championship (USCC). Palttala also finished runner-up with BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS at the 24-hour race at Spa-Francorchamps (BE) and won the GTC class at the final round of the European Le Mans Series (ELMS) in Estoril (PT). As a reward for his success, the Finn received a cheque for 30,000 Euros – and a drive in a BMW M4 DTM, which he completed last week in Jerez (ES).

"I would like to congratulate Markus Palttala on winning the 2014 BMW Sports Trophy," said Marquardt. "Markus has been hugely successful this season, both in America and in Europe. He is a genuine all-rounder, who feels just at home in the USCC as he does at the endurance classic. He more than deserves the winner's trophy, prize money and his laps in the BMW M4 DTM."

Palttala said: "It has been a fantastic season, both here in Europe and in the USA. And it could not end in a better way than with first place in the BMW Sports Trophy Drivers' Competition and the opportunity to take to the track in a BMW DTM car. I expected quite a lot from this car, and have to say that it lived up to all my expectations. I had never driven a single-seater racing car or a Le Mans prototype before, so this was the first time I had been out in a car with that much downforce. That is an experience I will remember for a long time. I enjoyed every single lap."

Motorsport

BMW

Corporate Communications



Second and third places in the competition for privateer drivers went to Palttala's team-mate at Turner Motorsport, Dane Cameron (US), and Tom Capizzi (US). The two drivers received 25,000 and 21,000 Euros respectively for their efforts. Cameron was crowned GTD champion in the USCC in a BMW Z4 GTD. Capizzi celebrated numerous triumphs in the American Pro-IT Series and the North Atlantic Road Racing Championship. In total, 283 privateer BMW drivers from 26 countries had registered for the BMW Sports Trophy, with the top 25 at the end of the season winning a share of the 250,000 Euros prize money.

The BMW Sports Trophy also featured a Team Competition for the second time in 2014. The prize purse in this category amounts to 100,000 Euro. First place went to the Adrenalin Motorsport team, who were in action at the Nürburgring-Nordschleife (DE) this year, including outings with the new BMW M235i Racing, with which they won the Team competition in the BMW M235i Racing Cup class. Team Principal Matthias Unger (DE) received the trophy from Jens Marquardt. Second and third places also went to teams, for whom the "Green Hell" is their sporting home: Walkenhorst Motorsport and the Sorg Rennsport team.

"We introduced the Team Competition in 2013, and are delighted that it has been so well received," said Marquardt. "Fifty eight teams registered for this competition in its second year – that is an increase of over 70 per cent on last year. The top ten alone features teams from Germany, the USA, the Netherlands, Great Britain and Switzerland. That just goes to show how international the BMW Sports Trophy is. Congratulations to Matthias Unger and his Adrenalin Motorsport team on their success and on winning the BMW Sports Trophy."

Adrenalin Motorsport's Team Principal Matthias Unger said: "Our complete team has worked very hard towards this goal. It's a dream to walk away with the trophy for first place in the Team Competition this year. We were up against so many strong BMW teams from around the globe. That's why this success is simply amazing. Every year it's our goal to make it to the BMW Motorsport Season Review event. If you then receive such an award, this is just a fantastic feeling."

Motorsport

BMW

Corporate Communications



Final standings in the 2014 Drivers' Competition.

Pos	Name	Nat	Car	Points
1.	Markus Palttala	FI	BMW Z4 GT3 / GTD	587.61
2.	Dane Cameron	US	BMW Z4 GTD	515.00
3.	Tom Capizzi	US	BMW 325i / BMW 323i	496.43
4.	Colin Turkington	GB	BMW 125i M Sport	486.67
5.	Jörg Weidinger	DE	BMW M235i Racing / BMW 318i	468.52
6.	Mikhail Grachev	RU	BMW 320si / BMW 320 TC	444.74
7.	Dominik Baumann	ΑT	BMW Z4 GT3	425.13
8.	Nobuteru Taniguchi	JP	BMW Z4 GT3	420.00
8.	Tatsuya Kataoka	JP	BMW Z4 GT3	420.00
10.	Michael Schrey	DE	BMW M235i Racing	404.30
11.	Trent Hindman	US	BMW M3	399.00
12.	Robert Nimkoff	US	BMW 325i	392.86
13.	Rolf Derscheid	DE	BMW 325i	391.67
13.	Michael Flehmer	DE	BMW 325i	391.67
15.	Daniel Zils	DE	BMW M235i Racing / BMW Z4	373.74
16.	Norbert Fischer	DE	BMW M235i Racing / BMW Z4	372.74
17.	Nick Catsburg	NL	BMW Z4 GT3	372.65
18.	Eric van den Munckhof	NL	BMW Z4	356.24
19.	Claudia Hürtgen	DE	BMW Z4 GT3	354.00
20.	Liesette Braams	NL	BMW M3 GT4 / BMW 123d	353.32
21.	Max Partl	DE	BMW M235i Racing	353.07
22.	Uwe Ebertz	DE	BMW M235i Racing	352.74
23.	Emin Akata	DE	BMW M235i Racing	349.30
24.	John Edwards	US	BMW M3	347.21
25.	Marco Attard	GB	BMW Z4 GT3	340.00

Final standings in the 2014 Team Competition.

Pos	Team	Nat	Points
1.	Adrenalin Motorsport	DE	940.49
2.	Walkenhorst Motorsport	DE	826.49
3.	Sorg Rennsport	DE	754.11
4.	Schubert Motorsport	DE	696.11
5.	JR Motorsport	NL	679.89
6.	Fall-Line Motorsport	US	654.69
7.	Turner Motorsport	US	593.51
8.	Hofor Racing	CH	580.53
9.	West Surrey Racing	GB	573.10
10.	Auto Technic Racing	US	537.66

Press contact:

Jörg Kottmeier, Phone: +49 (0) 170 566 6112, joerg.kottmeier@bmw.de Ingo Lehbrink, Phone: +49 (0) 176 203 40224, ingo.lehbrink@bmw.de

You can find the latest BMW Motorsport media information and copyright-free images for editorial purposes online at: www.press.bmwgroup-sport.com