Corporate Communications



DTM - Races 9 & 10 - Spielberg (AT) - Qualifying 1

Augusto Farfus fifth for BMW in opening qualifying in Spielberg.

Spielberg (AT), 1st August 2015. Augusto Farfus (BR) of BMW Team RBM was the fastest BMW driver in qualifying ahead of the ninth DTM race of the year in Spielberg (AT) on Saturday. He clocked a fastest time of 1:25.018 minutes at the wheel of the Shell BMW M4 DTM, putting him about three tenths of a second behind Edoardo Mortara (IT, Audi), who will start the race from pole position.

The second-best BMW driver was Marco Wittmann (DE, Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM) in 12th place, followed by António Félix da Costa (PT, Red Bull BMW M4 DTM) in 13th. Bruno Spengler (CA) was 15th fastest in the BMW Bank M4 DTM, while Martin Tomczyk (DE, BMW M Performance Parts M4 DTM) and Maxime Martin (BE, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM) qualified 18th and 19th. Tom Blomqvist (GB, BMW M4 DTM) and Timo Glock (DE, DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM) had to settle for 21st and 23rd.

Quote from the best-placed BMW driver.

"I put together a good lap, which rescued the situation for us. We are having a few problems here at the Red Bull Ring. The other BMW cars are spread out across the entire field, which is not a good sign. My team managed to continuously improve the balance of the Shell BMW M4 DTM. I am relatively happy, but it will be a difficult race." – Augusto Farfus (BMW Team RBM, 5th)

Facts and Figures.

Circuit/length:

Red Bull Ring, 4.326 kilometres

Conditions:

Light cloud, 25 degrees Celsius

Pole time:

Edoardo Mortara (IT, Audi), 1:24.714 minutes

BMW Motorsport results*:

#18 Augusto Farfus (BR), BMW Team RBM, Shell BMW M4 DTM 1:25.018 minutes – 5th

Media Contact.

Jörg Kottmeier +49 170 566 6112 joerg.kottmeier@bmw.de

Ingo Lehbrink +49 176 203 40224 ingo.lehbrink@bmw.de









Motorsport

Corporate Communications



#1 Marco Wittmann (DE), BMW Team RMG, Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM 1:25.295 minutes – 12th

#13 António Félix da Costa (PT), BMW Team Schnitzer, Red Bull BMW M4 DTM

1:25.313 minutes – 13th

#7 Bruno Spengler (CA), BMW Team MTEK, BMW Bank M4 DTM 1:25.341 minutes – 15th

#77 Martin Tomczyk (DE), BMW Team Schnitzer, BMW M Performance Parts M4 DTM

1:25.446 minutes - 18th

#36 Maxime Martin (BE), BMW Team RMG, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM 1:25.476 minutes – 19th

#31 Tom Blomqvist (GB), BMW Team RBM, BMW M4 DTM 1:25.485 minutes - 21st

#16 Timo Glock (DE), BMW Team MTEK, DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM 1:25.599 minutes – 23rd

*The official starting grid may differ from the provisional qualifying results published in this release.

Useful information:

Augusto Farfus's fastest lap of 1:25.018 minutes was 0.157 seconds faster than last year's pole time, set by Mercedes driver Robert Wickens (CA).

Less than one second separated pole from 24th place.

Marco Wittmann was the best-placed BMW driver in both free practice sessions. He was eighth fastest in the opening session on Friday, then ninth on Saturday morning.

Qualifying was suspended after just 12 minutes when Miguel Molina (ES, Audi) rolled to a stop on the track.

The ninth of this year's 18 DTM races begins at 18:10 hrs local time.

Media Contact

Jörg Kottmeier +49 170 566 6112 joerg.kottmeier@bmw.de

Ingo Lehbrink +49 176 203 40224 ingo.lehbrink@bmw.de









BECKER CARBON

BMW

Corporate Communications



More information:

You can find the latest BMW Motorsport media information, DTM press kit, and copyright-free images for editorial purposes online at www.press.bmwgroupsport.com.

Website: bmw-motorsport.com

Facebook: facebook.com/bmwmotorsport YouTube: youtube.com/bmwmotorsport Twitter: twitter.com/bmwmotorsport

Google+: plus.google.com/+bmwmotorsport

BALDESSARINI









BECKER CRRBON