## BMW Corporate Communications



DTM - Races 13 & 14 - Oschersleben (DE) - Race 14

# Tom Blomqvist becomes the youngest BMW winner in DTM history – Top-four lock-out again for BMW on Sunday in Oschersleben.

Oscherleben (DE), 13<sup>th</sup> September 2015. It took Tom Blomqvist (GB, BMW M4 DTM) just 14 races to join the list of DTM winners in his rookie season: the BMW Team RBM rider led from start to finish to win Sunday's race in Oschersleben (DE) in emphatic style. Blomqvist got off to a flying start from second on the grid, passing his team-mate Augusto Farfus (BR, Shell BMW M4 DTM) by the first corner and then wasting no time in pulling clear of the rest of the field. At the end of the 60-minute race at the "Motorsport Arena", one thing was clear: at just 21 years of age, Blomqvist is the youngest BMW winner in the DTM ever. Only Pascal Wehrlein (DE, Mercedes) has triumphed at a younger age. BMW claimed its 68th victory in the DTM.

Farfus crossed the finish line in second place behind Blomqvist to complete the first one-two for BMW Team RBM in the DTM. One day earlier, BMW Team MTEK had achieved the very same dream result. Reigning champion Marco Wittmann (DE, Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM) came home third to join them on the podium. António Félix da Costa (PT, Red Bull BMW M4 DTM) finished fourth to round off a second successive top-four lock-out in the DTM for BMW.

Timo Glock (DE, DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM), fresh from his victory in Saturday's race, came home seventh this time. Maxime Martin (BE, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM) and Bruno Spengler (CA, BMW Bank M4 DTM) were ninth and tenth. As such, seven BMW drivers finished in the points – just as they did on Saturday. Martin Tomczyk (DE, BMW M Performance Parts M4 DTM) had to settle for 20<sup>th</sup> place after receiving a drive-through penalty.

### Reactions to the 14<sup>th</sup> race of the 2015 DTM season.

**Jens Marquardt (BMW Motorsport Director):** "That was a sensational first win by our DTM rookie Tom Blomqvist. To find his feet so quickly in his first year, and to win a race in such dominant fashion, deserves the utmost respect. He is also one of the youngest winners in DTM history. Augusto Farfus also enjoyed a very impressive race, meaning BMW Team RBM was able to repeat the achievement of BMW Team MTEK yesterday and claim a one-two today. Marco Wittmann completed an all-BMW podium, while a further four BMWs finished in the top ten again. I am very happy with the outcome of the weekend here. We were able to make the very most of our opportunities, right across all the teams. I



## BMW **Corporate Communications**



would like to pay a huge compliment to the entire team. I hope Lucas Auer is okay after his big crash."

Tom Blomqvist (BMW Team RBM, 1<sup>st</sup> place): "I am incredibly happy. This is perhaps the biggest day of my career so far. To win a race in my rookie season is fantastic. I noticed at the start of the season just how difficult it is to be successful in the DTM. Now everything came together this weekend and I managed to take the opportunity. It has made me hungry for more success."

#### **Facts and Figures.**

#### **Circuit/length/duration:**

Motorsport Arena Oschersleben, 3.696 kilometres, 60 minutes plus 1 lap

#### **Conditions:**

Cloudy, 24 degrees Celsius

#### **BMW Motorsport results:**

#31 Tom Blomqvist (GB), BMW Team RBM, BMW M4 DTM – 1<sup>st</sup>

#18 Augusto Farfus (BR), BMW Team RBM, Shell BMW M4 DTM – 2<sup>nd</sup>

#1 Marco Wittmann (DE), BMW Team RMG, Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM - 3rd

#13 António Félix da Costa (PT), BMW Team Schnitzer, Red Bull BMW M4  $DTM - 4^{th}$ 

#16 Timo Glock (DE), BMW Team MTEK, DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM -7<sup>th</sup>

#36 Maxime Martin (BE), BMW Team RMG, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM - 9<sup>th</sup>

#7 Bruno Spengler (CA), BMW Team MTEK, BMW Bank M4 DTM – 10<sup>th</sup>

#77 Martin Tomczyk (DE), BMW Team Schnitzer, BMW M Performance Parts M4 DTM - 20<sup>th</sup>

#### **Useful information:**

At 21 years of age, Tom Blomqvist is the youngest BMW driver ever to win a DTM race. He is the second youngest race winner with any manufacturer, behind Pascal Wehrlein (DE).

Media Contact.

Jörg Kottmeier +49 170 566 6112 joerg.kottmeier@bmw.de

Ingo Lehbrink +49 176 203 40224 ingo.lehbrink@bmw.de

Media Website press.bmwgroup-sport.com

**SAKRAPOVIČ** 

**BMW Bank** 

BECKER DESSARINI

W M PERFORMANCE

ZUBEHÖ

<u>ice</u>

MAHLE



## BMW Corporate Communications



After Augusto Farfus and Maxime Martin, Blomqvist is the third BMW rookie since BMW returned to the DTM to have won a race in his first season.

Blomqvist's success means that all eight of the current BMW DTM drivers have won at least one DTM race.

BMW Team RBM claimed its first DTM victory since the race in Zandvoort (NL) in 2013, which was won by Farfus.

For the third time this season, seven BMW drivers finished in the points. They had previously achieved this feat in Saturday's races in Zandvoort and Oschersleben.

The safety car took to the track following a collision in the first corner after the start. Blomqvist had passed Farfus to take the lead at the start, followed by António Félix da Costa and Marco Wittmann.

Bruno Spengler was the first driver to come in for his pit stop at the end of lap twelve. He had previously dropped a number of places after some fierce battles.

Wittmann passed Félix da Costa to move into third place on lap 17. At the same time, Martin Tomczyk was handed a drive-through penalty for "unsafe release".

The race was suspended on lap 42, shortly before the end of the scheduled race duration, due to a crash involving Lucas Auer (AT, Mercedes).

#### More information:

You can find the latest BMW Motorsport media information, DTM press kit, and copyright-free images for editorial purposes online at <u>www.press.bmwgroup-sport.com</u>.

Website: bmw-motorsport.com Facebook: facebook.com/bmwmotorsport YouTube: youtube.com/bmwmotorsport Twitter: twitter.com/bmwmotorsport Google+: plus.google.com/+bmwmotorsport

Media Contact.								Ō
Jörg Kottmeier +49 170 566 6112 joerg.kottmeier@bmw.de								+
Ingo Lehbrink +49 176 203 40224 ingo.lehbrink@bmw.de	BMW Bank	BMW M PERFORMANCE ZUBEHÖR	Deutsche Post	ICe	Red Bull	SAMSUNG SDI		
Media Website press.bmwgroup-sport.com	S AKRAPOVIC BAL	DESSARINI BECKER CARBON	BMW Driving Experience	HaRM	MAHLE	PUMA. 🔟	Zoliner	