Corporate Communications



Press Information BMW Sports Trophy 9th December 2016

First place in the BMW Sports Trophy Drivers' Competition goes to Michael Schrey – Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport defends Team title.

- Michael Schrey takes overall victory with 486 points.
- Hat-trick for Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport.
- 332 drivers and 59 teams battled for 350,000 Euro prize purse.

Munich. The season's most successful privateer BMW drivers and teams were honoured at the traditional BMW Motorsport Season Review at the premises of BMW Group Classic in Munich (DE) on Friday. Of the 332 drivers who registered, Michael Schrey scored the most points to pick up a cheque for 30,000 Euros. He will also get a test drive in the BMW M6 GT3 in 2017. In the Team Competition, Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport triumphed for the third year in a row.

The BMW Sports Trophy allows BMW Motorsport to honour the performances of privateer drivers and teams over the course of the season. Points were scored at the wheel of BMW racing cars in various championships and at prestigious individual events throughout the 2015/2016 scoring period. There was once again great interest in this competition: in total, 332 participants from 35 countries and 59 teams registered for the BMW Sports Trophy. With more than 700 of over 4,000 top-ten results recorded, the BMW M235i Racing was the most successful car in the hands of privateer drivers and teams. A total prize purse of 250,000 Euros was up for grabs in the Drivers' Competition in the 55th staging of the BMW Sports Trophy. The ten most successful teams received a share of 100,000 Euros.

Motorsport

Corporate Communications



"Every year, I am impressed by the fantastic development of the BMW Sports Trophy," said BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt. "The global BMW Motorsport family continues to grow every season. With their victories with BMW racing cars in such a diverse range of series, privateer drivers and teams are excellent ambassadors for the BMW brand and BMW Motorsport. Thank you to all 332 drivers and 59 teams who scored points over the past season. I would obviously particularly like to congratulate Michael Schrey and Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport. To come out on top against such strong opposition is an impressive performance."

With 486 points to his name, Schrey was able to fend off the challenges of his closest rivals Christopher Rink (DE, 465) and Danny Brink (DE, 435). He contested the entire season alongside Alexander Mies (DE) in the BMW M235i Racing Cup, which was held within the VLN Endurance Championship at the Nürburgring (DE), and not only won the Cup, but also finished top of the overall VLN standings. He also enjoyed successful starts in other series, including a class victory at the Nürburgring 24 Hours (DE).

"This award is the icing on the cake," said Schrey, who was presented with the trophy by DTM champion Marco Wittmann (DE). "I had a fantastic season, winning the title in both the VLN and the BMW M235i Racing Cup. However, victory in the BMW Sports Trophy Drivers' Competition is also very special. It is an international title, and one you cannot win every year. This season, everything came together perfectly. I am incredibly proud of this."

After winning the Team Competition for the past two years, Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport was once again the dominant force in 2015/16. Team principal Matthias Unger's (DE) outfit won its third Team title in the BMW Sports Trophy with a score of 1,058 points. "It feels fantastic to win again," said team principal Unger after receiving the award from Stefan Reinhold (DE), team principal of BMW Team RMG in the DTM. "This third win in a row was once again earned through hard work. We may have had a lot of cars in action, but every single class we start in is fiercely-competitive. Scoring the necessary points

Motorsport

Corporate Communications



in these series is far from a matter of course. I would like to thank my team and the drivers, without whom this title would not have been possible."

In total, Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport claimed 22 class victories and ended the season ahead of the West Surrey Racing and Securtal Sorg Rennsport teams (both 809 points).

Final standings 2015/16 BMW Sports Trophy Drivers' Competition.

Pos.	Name	Points
1.	Michael Schrey	486.00
2.	Christopher Rink	465.00
3.	Danny Brink	435.00
4.	Gabriele Piana	420.00
5.	Hajo Müller	392.00
6.	Alexander Mies	389.00
7.	Rolf Derscheid	374.00
	Zoran Radulovic	374.00
9.	Jens Riemer	368.00
	Dominik Thiemann	368.00
11.	Sam Tordoff	367.00
12.	Michael Flehmer	356.00
13.	Robert Collard	330.00
14.	Bret Curtis	316.00
15.	Gustavo Yacaman	270.00
	Fernando Monje	270.00
17.	Bernd Küpper	257.00
18.	Miguel Ramos	252.00
19.	Stefano Comandini	241.00
20.	Alberto Cerqui	238.00
21.	Michael Mönch	232.00
22.	Jack Goff	227.00
23.	Victor Bouveng	208.00
24.	Ward Sluys	206.00
25.	Rudi Adams	203.00
	Thomas Jäger	203.00

Corporate Communications



Final standings 2015/16 BMW Sports Trophy Team Competition.

Pos.	Team	Points
1.	Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport	1058.00
2.	West Surrey Racing	809.00
3.	Team Securtal Sorg Rennsport	809.00
4.	Hofor Racing	646.00
5.	JR Motorsport	635.00
6.	Teo Martín Motorsport	522.00
7.	Bonk Motorsport	507.00
8.	Turner Motorsport	455.00
9.	Walkenhorst Motorsport powered by Dunlop	426.00
10.	Ekris Motorsport	291.00

Press contact.

BMW Sport Communications

Jörg Kottmeier

Phone: +49 (0) 170 566 6112 Email: <u>Joerg.Kottmeier@bmw.de</u>

Ingo Lehbrink

Phone: 49 (0) 176 203 40224 Email: lngo.Lehbrink@bmw.de

Internet: <u>www.bmw-motorsport.com</u>

Note to editors: You will find current press releases, press kits and rights-free images for editorial use with regard to the sport activities of BMW here: https://www.press.bmwgroup.com/global