

Media Information BMW Motorrad Motorsport 14th June 2017

The BMW Motorrad Race Trophy unites the BMW S 1000 RR riders from both disciplines: Circuit championships and road racing meetings.

- Hutchinson, Hickman, Rutter: three road racers are currently within the top-10 of the standings.
- Major road races like the Isle of Man TT are counted towards the Race Trophy in the same way as circuit championships.
- Already nearly 160 participants in the Race Trophy, registration is open until end of June.

Munich. The BMW S 1000 RR riders are successful on race circuits as well as in road races – but how to unite championship series of numerous rounds and single events like the Isle of Man TT in one competition such as the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy? BMW Motorrad found a solution for the difficult task to include road racers who do not compete in "typical" racing series in the Race Trophy and invented its own "championship": the BMW Combined Road Race Challenge (BMW RRC). It includes the major events like the North West 200, the Isle of Man TT, the Southern 100, the UIster Grand Prix and the Macau Grand Prix.

The races at these events make up the season in the BMW RRC and the results are counted towards the Race Trophy in the same way as the races in circuit championships and in the International Road Racing Championship (IRRC). This ensures that road racers in the major single events have equal chances in the Race Trophy as their fellow BMW S 1000 RR riders who regularly contest races in national and international championships. With the Isle of Man TT, the second meeting of the BMW RRC has just finished and in fact, three road racers are currently placed within the top 10 of the overall standings.

Courtesy of his podium finishes at the North West 200 and his two wins at the Isle of Man TT, Tyco BMW rider Ian Hutchinson (GBR) is currently third in the Race Trophy standings. We hope that he will recover soon from his injuries suffered in the Senior











TT so that he will be ready to collect more points in upcoming events. Peter Hickman (GBR) of Smiths Racing BMW is currently sixth after claiming top-5 results at the NW200 and stepping onto the podium three times at the Isle of Man TT. Michael Rutter (GBR) of Bathams SMT Racing is tenth.

Kenny Foray currently leads the record field of participants.

The standings change every weekend as the participants collect points in their respective championships. The championship leader of the French Superbike Championship (FSBK), Kenny Foray (FRA), currently heads the Race Trophy. In the five races held so far in the 2017 FSBK, Foray has claimed three wins, one second and one third place on his Tecmas Racing Team BMW S 1000 RR. His fellow countryman Cyril Brunet-Lugardon (Gers Moto Vitesse Ordannaise) is currently second courtesy of two wins and three second places in the French European Bikes Championship (FR EU). This year, prize money will be awarded to the top 30 riders of the final standings and in addition, bonuses will be given in several categories (see current top-30 below).

"In its fourth year, the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy has again a new record number of participants. So far, 156 BMW riders have registered – 29 more than 2016's total. They come from 25 different nations on all continents and compete for 105 different teams in 27 different championship classes," said Uwe Geyer, Marketing Director BMW Motorrad Motorsport. "This record number will continue to grow as registration is still open until 30th June. Each rider, including those who register in the period to the end of June, receive points for all the race events he or she has competed in since the start of the 2017 scoring period on 25th February 2017. This means past races are counted for those riders who have just joined the Race Trophy."

You can find the 2017 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy regulations, online registration and the weekly updated standings online at:

www.bmw-motorrad-motorsport.com

2017 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy – Current top 30.

Status: 14th June 2017











Pos.	Name (Nat.)	Series / Class	Points
1	Kenny Foray (FRA)	FSBK SBK	165.50
2	Cyril Brunet-Lugardon (FRA)	FR EU	164.17
3	lan Hutchinson (GBR)	BMW RRC	160.10
4	Farid Badrul (MAS)	MSC SBK	157.50
5	Nasarudin Mat Yusop (MAS)	MSC STK	152.50
6	Peter Hickman (GBR)	BMW RRC	141.40
7	Lance Isaacs (RSA)	RSA SBK	140.90
8	Carmelo Morales (ESP)	CEV	131.25
9	Michel Amalric (FRA)	FR EU	124.33
10	Michael Rutter (GBR)	BMW RRC	116.35
11	David McFadden (RSA)	RSA SBK	112.00
11	Jordan Szoke (CAN)	CSBK	112.00
13	Julien Brun (FRA)	FR EU	97.83
14	Chrissy Rouse (GBR)	BSB STK	92.63
15	Florian Brunet-Lugardon (FRA)	FR EU	91.50
16	Miloš Cihak (CZE)	MOTOCh SBK	85.60
17	Sébastien Le Grelle (BEL)	IRRC	83.18
18	Michal Prášek (CZE)	MOTOCh STK	79.20
19	Christian Iddon (GBR)	BSB SBK	77.80
20	Richard Balcar (CZE)	MOTOCh (SBK)	77.20
21	Pedro Rodriguez (ESP)	CEV	75.25
22	Jordi Torres (ESP)	WorldSBK	72.60
23	Fabien Gabrielian (FRA)	FR EU	72.50
24	Dominic Chang (SGP)	MSC STK	69.00
25	Dan Keen (GBR)	BMW RRC	68.40
26	Markus Reiterberger (GER)	IDM SBK	64.29
27	Didier Grams (GER)	IRRC	63.64
28	Federico Sandi (ITA)	STK1000	61.56
28	Sébastien Suchet (SUI)	STK1000	61.56
30	Ladislav Chmelik (CZE)	MOTOCh STK	61.47

Media Contact.











BMW Sports Communications Danilo Coglianese Phone: +49 (0)176 – 601 72405 Email: <u>danilo.coglianese@bmwgroup.com</u>

Media Website. www.press.bmwgroup.com/global

BMW Motorrad Motorsport on the web.

Website: <u>www.bmw-motorrad-motorsport.com</u> Facebook: <u>www.facebook.com/bmwgroupsports</u> Facebook: <u>www.facebook.com/bmwmotorradmotorsport</u>







