

Media Information
BMW Motorrad Motorsport
22nd November 2018

And the winner is: IRRC Champion Danny Webb wins the 2018 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy.

- Winner Danny Webb achieves 485 of a possible 500 points.
- Head-to-head race: Michal Filla in second place with 483.02 points,
 Ilya Mikhalchik in third place.
- 11 titles for BMW Motorrad Motorsport racers in the 2018 season.

Munich. The winner of the 2018 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy is: Danny Webb (GBR). The reigning International Road Racing Championship (IRRC) champion picked up a total of 485 out of a possible 500 Race Trophy points. This saw him clinch victory by a hair's breadth with a thrilling head-to-head race at the top. Michal Filla (CZE) finished in second place with 483.02 points, less than two points behind. Third place went to Ilya Mikhalchik (UKR).

BMW Motorrad Motorsport awarded a total prize fund of 100,000 euros this year, which was divided among the 30 best-placed participants. On top of this were bonuses in various categories, for example, for the 11 riders and teams that won the championship title in their series, for the "Best BMW Rider in Class" or for the "Best Newcomer". The BMW Motorrad Race Trophy, which was launched in 2014, was held for the fifth time this year. 139 riders from 19 different nations registered for the Race Trophy this season. They competed for 85 teams in 25 different championship classes.

The BMW Motorrad Race Trophy rankings are calculated using a complex system. A rider can attain a maximum of 500 points, regardless of how many races are held in their respective championship. They consist of race points for results in the races, as well as bonus points, for example, for pole positions and winning the championship title.

Race Trophy winner Danny Webb dominated the International Road Racing Championship on his Wepol Racing by Penz13 BMW S 1000 RR. The Brit picked up



the full number of championship points in each race and secured the IRRC championship title at the penultimate round of the season in August. This performance also made him one of the favourites in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. He ended up bagging 485 points in the Race Trophy and securing the winner's prize money of 15,000 euros.

Webb had a fierce rival, however, in Michal Filla of the Czech Republic, who made an impression in the Alpe Adria Road Racing Championship Superstock class (AARR STK). The BMW Sikora Motorsport rider won the first nine of the twelve races of the season on his RR. It was only in the tenth race that his winning streak came to an end, but by then Filla had already secured the championship title. Filla picked up 483.02 points in the Race Trophy – not even two points behind Webb. He finished the head-to-head race in second place, with a cash prize of 10,000 euros.

Third place in the 2018 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy also went to a champion who picked up win after win in his championship, Ilya Mikhalchik of the alpha Racing-Van-Zon-BMW team. The Ukrainian celebrated winning the title in the International German Championship (IDM). In the 14 races of the season, Mikhalchik topped the podium as winner nine times. He picked up a total of 466.18 points in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. He received a cash prize of 7,500 euros for finishing third.

"Congratulations to the winner Danny Webb and all successful participants of the 2018 Race Trophy," said BMW Motorrad Motorsport Director Marc Bongers. "We experienced another season packed with thrilling races with victories and triumphs for BMW riders around the world. We are proud of our customers' successes and thank them for representing the BMW Motorrad colours so impressively all over the world. Once again, they were supported by our extensive network of BMW Motorrad Motorsport experts. And with success, the riders involved in the Race Trophy picked up 100 wins and a total of 383 podiums this season – on the racetrack as well as at major international road races, including the Isle of Man TT and the Macau Grand Prix. This year they celebrated title wins in no fewer than 11 international and national championships. What a result! We look forward to supporting the privateer BMW racers around the world with our proven customer racing programme once again in 2019 – and to further successes for the BMW Motorrad Motorsport community."



As part of the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy, the riders and teams that win the title in their championship are rewarded additional bonuses of 2,500 euros for the team and 2,500 euros for the rider. The 11 champions of the 2018 season are:

- Markus Reiterberger (GER) alpha Racing-Van Zon-BMW FIM Superstock
 1000 European Championship (STK1000)
- Danny Webb (GBR) Wepol Racing by Penz13 International Road Racing Championship (IRRC)
- Peter Hickman Smiths Racing Team BMW Combined Road Race Challenge (BMW RRC)
- Michal Filla (CZE) BMW Sikora Motorsport Alpe Adria Road Racing Championship Superstock class (AARR STK)
- Ilya Mikhalchik (UKR) alpha Racing-Van-Zon-BMW International German Championship (IDM)
- Keith Farmer (GBR) Tyco BMW Motorrad British Superbike Championship Superstock class (BSB STK)
- Carmelo Morales (ESP) Graphenano EasyRace SBK Team Spanish Championship (RFME CEV)
- Florian Brunet-Lugardon (FRA) Gers Moto Vitesse Ordannaise French European Bikes Championship (FR EU)
- Federico D'Annunzio (ITA) FDA Racing Italian National Trophy 1000 (INT)
- Jordan Szoke (CAN) Mopar Express Lane BMW Superbike Team Canadian Superbike Championship (CSBK)
- Amirul Hafig Azmi (MAS) TOC HKMTOYO Racing Team Malaysia Superbike Championship Superstock class (MSC STK)

2018 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy - Final top 30*.

Pos.	Name (Nat.)	Race Series / Class	Points
1	Danny Webb (GBR)	IRRC	485.00
2	Michal Filla (CZE)	AARR STK	483.02
3	Ilya Mikhalchik (UKR)	IDM	416.18
4	Carmelo Morales (ESP)	RFME CEV	423.00
5	Markus Reiterberger (GER)	STK1000	403.43
6	Kenny Foray (FRA)	FSBK	401.92



			•
7	Jordan Szoke (CAN)	CSBK	396.00
8	Florian Brunet-Lugardon (FRA)	FR EU	394.92
9	Amirul Hafig Azmi (MAS)	MSC STK	377.20
10	Keith Farmer (GBR)	BSB STK	375.00
11	Bastien Mackels (BEL)	IDM	369.69
12	Arnaud Friedrich (GER)	AARR STK	326.61
13	Peter Hickman (GBR)	BMW RRC	326.39
14	Ben Young (CAN)	CSBK	324.00
15	Roberto Tamburini (ITA)	STK1000	314.00
16	Didier Grams (GER)	IRRC	306.18
17	Federico D'Annunzio (ITA)	INT	301.00
18	Alex Barros (BRA)	BRSBK	298.29
19	Jonathan Germany (FRA)	FR EU	292.19
20	Karel Hanika (CZE)	AARR SBK	288.73
21	Julian Puffe (GER)	IDM	270.59
22	Marek Červený (CZE)	IRRC	268.55
23	Luca Salvadori (ITA)	INT	268.00
24	Sharulnizam Ramli (MAS)	MSC STK	263.60
25	Erno Kostamo (FIN)	IRRC	262.73
26	Travis Wyman (USA)	MA STK	250.86
27	Luca Vitali (ITA)	CIV	248.18
28	Danilo Lewis (BRA)	BRSBK	232.00
29	Samuel Trépanier (CAN)	CSBK	220.00
30	Michal Prášek (CZE)	AARR STK	212.79
			•

^{*}The full rankings are listed online at:

http://www.bmw-motorrad-motorsport.com

Media Contact.

Matthias Schepke

Spokesperson BMW Motorrad Motorsport

Phone: +49 (0)151 – 601 90450 E-mail: matthias.schepke@bmw.de



Ingo Lehbrink

Spokesperson BMW Group Motorsport

Phone: +49 (0)176 – 203 40224 E-mail: ingo.lehbrink@bmw.de

Benjamin Titz

Head of BMW Group Design, Innovations & Motorsports Communications

Phone: +49 (0)179 – 743 80 88 E-mail: <u>benjamin.titz@bmw.de</u>

Media Website.

www.press.bmwgroup.com/global

BMW Motorrad Motorsport on the Web.

Website: www.bmw-motorrad-motorsport.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/bmwgroupsports

Facebook: www.facebook.com/bmwmotorradmotorsport