Corporate Communications



Media Information BMW Motorsport News 16th November 2020

BMW teams clinch titles in various series and classes – BMW wins the new manufacturer's championship in the NLS.

- Successful final weekend in a host of championships with wins and titles for BMW teams.
- BMW wins the first ever manufacturer's championship up for grabs in the Nürburgring Endurance Series.
- BMW Team RBM awarded Hankook Best Pitstop Award in the DTM.

Whether in the DTM, the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, the ABB FIA Formula E Championship, or countless other championships, week after week BMW teams and drivers around the world do battle for points, victories and titles. Away from the track too, members of the large BMW Motorsport family around the world are also creating headlines. The "BMW Motorsport News" allows us to regularly summarise all the action for you in a compact and informative manner. This way, you are always up to speed.

24H SERIES: AVIA Sorg Rennsport clinches several titles.

The 24H SERIES 2020 drew to a close with the 12-hour race at Mugello (ITA) at the weekend – and with great success for Team AVIA Sorg Rennsport. The team not only secured race victory with the #451 BMW M4 GT4, but also won several titles. The race was held over two parts on Friday and Saturday. After a total of 302 laps, Team AVIA Sorg Rennsport won the GT4 class by a large margin with drivers José Manuel de los Milagros, Sergio Paulet, Philippe Valenza (all ESP) and Björn Simon (GER). That saw Team AVIA Sorg Rennsport win the championship title in the overall GT standings and the GT4 class in the 24H SERIES Continents; de los Milagros and Simon were also crowned champions in the overall GT standings and the GT4 class. What's more, de los Milagros ended the 2020 season in second place overall in the 24H SERIES Europe GT4 class and in third place in the 24H SERIES Europe GT classification.

Motorsport

Corporate Communications



GT racing: BMW wins manufacturer's championship at the Nordschleife.

BMW rounded off an extremely successful year at the Nürburgring-Nordschleife (GER) by winning the first ever manufacturer's championship up for grabs. The classification incorporated the results from the practice sessions and races of all rounds of the Nürburgring Endurance Series (NLS). For the 24-hour race, the qualifying session and the race results after 12 and 24 hours were also all taken into account. With 129 points in the final classification, BMW had a narrow lead over their rivals. BMW's tally included the win and third place for ROWE Racing and BMW Team Schnitzer at the 24-hour race, as well as two NLS wins for ROWE Racing and Walkenhorst Motorsport. "Winning the manufacturer's championship for the Nordschleife races is the icing on the cake of an extremely successful racing season at the 'Green Hell' for BMW Motorsport," said current BMW Group Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt. "The ROWE Racing win at the 24-hour race, which marked BMW's 20th victory at this iconic race after a ten-year wait, as well as the podium for BMW Team Schnitzer were phenomenal. But our successes in the NLS races were also a lot of fun. Even though they didn't enter this manufacturer's championship, I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all the BMW M customer racing teams once again on their fantastic Nordschleife seasons and numerous NLS title wins with the BMW M4 GT4, BMW M240i Racing, BMW 330i, BMW 325i and other BMW cars. All told, we witnessed gripping races and amazing duels everywhere."

Michelin Pilot Challenge: Victory for Turner Motorsport at Sebring.

Turner Motorsport ended the 2020 season of the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge with another win. At the Sebring (USA) final, Robby Foley and Cameron Lawrence (both USA) were unbeatable in the #95 BMW M4 GT4. That saw the Turner Motorsport team clinch its third win of the season. Gregory Liefooghe and Sean Quinlan (both USA) crossed the finish line in ninth place in the #43 BMW M4 GT4 of Stephen Cameron Racing. Foley was on double duty in this race, also racing alongside Vincent Barletta (USA) in the Turner Motorsport #96 BMW M4 GT4. They finished in twelfth place. James Clay and Mike Skeen (both USA) ended up in 14th place in the BimmerWorld Racing #82 BMW M4 GT4.

GT4 European Series: Borusan Otomotiv Motorsport on the podium at final.

The Borusan Otomotiv Motorsport team picked up further podiums at the season finale of the GT4 European Series at Le Castellet (FRA). In the Pro-Am class, Cem Bölükbasi and Yagiz Gedik (both TUR) finished second on the podium in the #12

Motorsport

Corporate Communications



BMW M4 GT4 in Saturday's race. The duo retired from race two on Sunday, but that didn't affect their position in the Pro-Am championship standings, in which Bölükbasi and Gedik finished in a superb second place after the final. Their teammates Fatih Ayhan and Ibrahim Okyay (both TUR) also finished on the podium at Le Castellet. They finished third in the Am class with their #13 BMW M4 GT4 in Sunday's race. The duo finished race one on Saturday in sixth place in their class.

BTCC: Team BMW wins the 2020 team and manufacturer's titles.

Championship glory in the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC). At the Brands Hatch (GBR) final, Team BMW won the team title and topped the manufacturer's standings for BMW in the 2020 season. Driver Colin Turkington (GBR) ended the year second in the driver's standings. Three races were scheduled for the final, which was held in somewhat variable conditions. Turkington finished in ninth, fourth and ninth place in his BMW 330i M Sport. His team-mate Tom Oliphant (GBR) finished the races in tenth, 15th and 13th place. Turkington also received a special award after the qualifying session; he was presented with the first ever 'Goodyear Wingfoot Award', a special award for the driver with the best overall qualifying results throughout the season.

DTM: BMW Team RBM wins Hankook Best Pitstop Award 2020.

To round off the 2020 DTM season, BMW Team RBM was presented with another special award. The team won the Hankook Best Pitstop Award 2020 with Philipp Eng's (AUT) crew. In line with the scoring system in the races, the individual car crews were awarded points for the fastest pit stops after each race weekend. Eng's BMW Team RBM crew picked up the maximum haul of 25 points for the fastest stop of the weekend in four of the season's nine events. Their final tally in the Hankook Best Pitstop Award was 151 points. In second place was BMW Team RMG with Timo Glock's (GER) crew. They racked up 118 points and were the crew with the fastest pit stop three times this season.

Media Contact.

Daniela Tadday

Media Relations Manager BMW M Motorsport

Phone: +49 (0)151 – 601 24 545 E-mail: daniela.tadday@bmw.de

Corporate Communications



Benjamin Titz

Head of BMW Group Design, Innovations & Motorsports Communications

Phone: +49 (0)179 – 743 80 88 E-mail: <u>benjamin.titz@bmw.de</u>

Media website.

http://www.press.bmwgroup.com/global

BMW Motorsport on the web.

Website: www.bmw-motorsport.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/bmwmotorsport
Instagram: www.twitter.com/bmwmotorsport
Twitter: www.twitter.com/bmwmotorsport
Twitch: www.twitch.tv/bmwmotorsport