### BMW Corporate Communications



DTM - Races 17 & 18 - Hockenheim (DE) - Race 18

# BMW wins 2015 DTM Manufacturers' Championship after dramatic finale in Hockenheim.

Hockenheim (DE), 18<sup>th</sup> October 2015. It was exciting right down to the final lap, but BMW defended its lead in the Manufacturers' Championship in the 18<sup>th</sup> and final race of the 2015 DTM season to claim the title for the third time in four years. This was the seventh of a possible 12 titles for BMW since returning to the DTM in 2012.

The points secured by Maxime Martin (BE, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM) in sixth place, António Félix da Costa (PT, Red Bull BMW M4 DTM) in seventh, Bruno Spengler (CA, BMW Bank M4 DTM) in eighth, and Martin Tomczyk (DE, BMW M Performance Parts M4 DTM) in tenth proved sufficient to hang on to first place with 602 points. Audi ended the season as runner-up with 595 points after a one-two-three in the final race of the season.

This was the first Manufacturers' title for the BMW M4 DTM, after the BMW M3 DTM had been successful in 2012 and 2013. BMW Team RMG came up just short of successfully defending its title in the Team competition. Team Principal Stefan Reinhold's (DE) team finished runner-up with 206 points, behind the gooix/Original-Teile Mercedes-AMG team (225 points). Mercedes driver Pascal Wehrlein (DE) had previously wrapped up the Drivers' Championship on Saturday.

Augusto Farfus (BR, Shell BMW M4 DTM) ended the 18<sup>th</sup> race of the season in 14<sup>th</sup>. Tom Blomqvist (GB, BMW M4 DTM) came home 17<sup>th</sup> after a drive-through penalty, but still claimed the unofficial title of "Rookie of the Year". Timo Glock was 21<sup>st</sup> in the DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM, while Marco Wittmann (DE) failed to finish his last race, for now at least, with the number 1 on his Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM.

### Reactions to the 18<sup>th</sup> race of the 2015 DTM season.

**Jens Marquardt (BMW Motorsport Director):** "It is fantastic to end the 2015 DTM season as the champion manufacturer. This title is always proof of an outstanding team effort over the course of a season. It belongs to every one of us in the team – whether driver, engineer or mechanic, and was primarily possible thanks to the fighting spirit shown by every single one of us. After a difficult start, we improved over the course of the season. When presented with the opportunity to get good results, we took full advantage – such as with our top-seven lock-out in Zandvoort. Five different race winners in the BMW M4 DTM



## BMW **Corporate Communications**



also shows that we achieved our goal for 2015, which was to be more competitive across the board. I am very proud of that. Congratulations again to Pascal Wehrlein and Mercedes on winning the Drivers' title. Like yesterday, Sunday's race was not one for anyone with weak nerves. Maxime Martin made another great start, but then dropped back a bit. However, he was then able to fight his way back up the field with a great pit stop and some fantastic battles. António Félix da Costa, Bruno Spengler and Martin Tomczyk also climbed into the points and, in doing so, ensured we scored enough points to win the Manufacturers' Championship."

Maxime Martin (BMW Team RMG, 6th place): "We were determined to win the Manufacturers' title, and we did it. Fantastic. I got off to an outstanding start and immediately fought my way up to third place. Unfortunately I was unable to match the pace of the Audis, but that is irrelevant now after this team result for BMW."

#### **Facts and Figures.**

#### Circuit/length/duration:

Hockenheim, 4.574 kilometres, 60 minutes plus 1 lap

### **Conditions:**

Overcast, ten degrees Celsius

#### **BMW Motorsport results:**

#36 Maxime Martin (BE), BMW Team RMG, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM – 6<sup>th</sup> place

#13 António Félix da Costa (PT), BMW Team Schnitzer, Red Bull BMW M4 DTM – 7<sup>th</sup> place

#7 Bruno Spengler (CA), BMW Team MTEK, BMW Bank M4 DTM – 8<sup>th</sup> place

#77 Martin Tomczyk (DE), BMW Team Schnitzer, BMW M Performance Parts M4 DTM – 10<sup>th</sup> place

#18 Augusto Farfus (BR), BMW Team RBM, Shell BMW M4 DTM – 14<sup>th</sup> place

#31 Tom Blomqvist (GB), BMW Team RBM, BMW M4 DTM – 17<sup>th</sup> place

#16 Timo Glock (DE), BMW Team MTEK, DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM -21<sup>st</sup> place

#### Media Contact.

Jörg Kottmeier +49 170 566 6112 joerg.kottmeier@bmw.de

Ingo Lehbrink +49 176 203 40224 ingo.lehbrink@bmw.de

Media Website press.bmwgroup-sport.com

**SAKRAPOVIC** 

**BMW Bank** 

BECKER ESSARINI

ZUBEHÖ

W M PERFORMANCE

<u>ice</u>

MAHLE







## BMW Corporate Communications



#1 Marco Wittmann (DE), BMW Team RMG, Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM – DNF

#### **Useful information:**

BMW has won at least one title every year since returning to the DTM. In 2012 it pulled off a hat-trick of titles in the Drivers', Team and Manufacturers' competitions. This was followed by another Manufacturers' title in 2013, the Drivers' and Team titles in 2014, and now a third Manufacturers' Championship.

BMW Team RMG was the most successful BMW crew of the season for the second time in a row.

Bruno Spengler ended the season fifth in the Drivers' Championship, making him the best-placed BMW driver. He was followed by Marco Wittmann in sixth place overall.

Tom Blomqvist is the fourth BMW driver in a row to win the unofficial title of "Rookie of the Year", following in the footsteps of Augusto Farfus (2012), Marco Wittmann (2013) and Maxime Martin (2014).

The bonnet of Marco Wittmann's Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM came loose and flew off on lap eight, following a battle for position. He was forced to retire from the race.

Tom Blomqvist was handed a drive-through penalty for a collision with Robert Wickens (CA) on lap 12.

#### More information:

pr

You can find the latest BMW Motorsport media information, DTM press kit, and copyright-free images for editorial purposes online at <u>www.press.bmwgroup-</u><u>sport.com</u>.

Website: bmw-motorsport.com Facebook: facebook.com/bmwmotorsport YouTube: youtube.com/bmwmotorsport Twitter: twitter.com/bmwmotorsport Google+: plus.google.com/+bmwmotorsport

Media Contact. Jörg Kottmeier +49 170 566 6112 joerg.kottmeier@bmw.de										(+
Ingo Lehbrink +49 176 203 40224 ingo.lehbrink@bmw.de	BMW Bank	BMW M PERF( ZUBEHÖR	ORMANCE	Deutsche Post	ICe	Red Bull	SAMSU			
Media Website ess.bmwgroup-sport.com	🗙 AKRAPOVIČ	BALDESSARINI	BECKER CARBON	BMW Driving Experience	HaRM	MAHLE	PUMA.	Ē	<u>zaline</u> r	