Do you need help? Please contact our support team from 9 to 17 CET via

PressClub Latin America, Caribbean · Article.

BMW wins 2015 DTM Manufacturers’ Championship after

. It was exciting right down to the final lap, but BMW defended its lead in the Manufacturers’ Championship in the 18th and final race of the 2015 DTM season to claim the title for the third time in four years.


Press Contact.

Juan Bernardo Vazquez Mellado
BMW Group

Tel: +52-55-91402-357

send an e-mail

Hockenheim (DE), 18th October 2015. It was exciting right down to the final lap,

but BMW defended its lead in the Manufacturers’ Championship in the 18th and

final race of the 2015 DTM season to claim the title for the third time in four

years. This was the seventh of a possible 12 titles for BMW since returning to the

DTM in 2012.


The points secured by Maxime Martin (BE, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM) in sixth

place, António Félix da Costa (PT, Red Bull BMW M4 DTM) in seventh, Bruno

Spengler (CA, BMW Bank M4 DTM) in eighth, and Martin Tomczyk (DE, BMW M

Performance Parts M4 DTM) in tenth proved sufficient to hang on to first place

with 602 points. Audi ended the season as runner-up with 595 points after a

one-two-three in the final race of the season.


This was the first Manufacturers’ title for the BMW M4 DTM, after the BMW M3

DTM had been successful in 2012 and 2013. BMW Team RMG came up just

short of successfully defending its title in the Team competition. Team Principal

Stefan Reinhold’s (DE) team finished runner-up with 206 points, behind the

gooix/Original-Teile Mercedes-AMG team (225 points). Mercedes driver Pascal

Wehrlein (DE) had previously wrapped up the Drivers’ Championship on



Augusto Farfus (BR, Shell BMW M4 DTM) ended the 18th race of the season in

14th. Tom Blomqvist (GB, BMW M4 DTM) came home 17th after a drive-through

penalty, but still claimed the unofficial title of “Rookie of the Year”. Timo Glock

was 21st in the DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM, while Marco Wittmann (DE)

failed to finish his last race, for now at least, with the number 1 on his Ice-Watch



Reactions to the 18 th race of the 2015 DTM season.


Jens Marquardt (BMW Motorsport Director): “It is fantastic to end the 2015

DTM season as the champion manufacturer. This title is always proof of an

outstanding team effort over the course of a season. It belongs to every one of us

in the team – whether driver, engineer or mechanic, and was primarily possible

thanks to the fighting spirit shown by every single one of us. After a difficult start,

we improved over the course of the season. When presented with the

opportunity to get good results, we took full advantage – such as with our top seven

lock-out in Zandvoort. Five different race winners in the BMW M4 DTM also shows that we achieved our goal for 2015, which was to be more competitive across the board. I am very proud of that. Congratulations again to Pascal Wehrlein and Mercedes on winning the Drivers’ title. Like yesterday, Sunday’s race was not one for anyone with weak nerves. Maxime Martin made another great start, but then dropped back a bit. However, he was then able to fight his way back up the field with a great pit stop and some fantastic battles.

António Félix da Costa, Bruno Spengler and Martin Tomczyk also climbed into

the points and, in doing so, ensured we scored enough points to win the

Manufacturers’ Championship.”

Maxime Martin (BMW Team RMG, 6 th place): “We were determined to win

the Manufacturers’ title, and we did it. Fantastic. I got off to an outstanding start

and immediately fought my way up to third place. Unfortunately I was unable to

match the pace of the Audis, but that is irrelevant now after this team result for



Facts and Figures.



Hockenheim, 4.574 kilometres, 60 minutes plus 1 lap



Overcast, ten degrees Celsius


BMW Motorsport results:

#36 Maxime Martin (BE), BMW Team RMG, SAMSUNG BMW M4 DTM – 6th


#13 António Félix da Costa (PT), BMW Team Schnitzer, Red Bull BMW M4

DTM – 7th place

#7 Bruno Spengler (CA), BMW Team MTEK, BMW Bank M4 DTM – 8th place

#77 Martin Tomczyk (DE), BMW Team Schnitzer, BMW M Performance Parts

M4 DTM – 10th place

#18 Augusto Farfus (BR), BMW Team RBM, Shell BMW M4 DTM – 14th place

#31 Tom Blomqvist (GB), BMW Team RBM, BMW M4 DTM – 17th place

#16 Timo Glock (DE), BMW Team MTEK, DEUTSCHE POST BMW M4 DTM –

21st place

#1 Marco Wittmann (DE), BMW Team RMG, Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM – DNF


Useful information:

BMW has won at least one title every year since returning to the DTM. In 2012 it

pulled off a hat-trick of titles in the Drivers’, Team and Manufacturers’

competitions. This was followed by another Manufacturers’ title in 2013, the

Drivers’ and Team titles in 2014, and now a third Manufacturers’ Championship.


BMW Team RMG was the most successful BMW crew of the season for the

second time in a row.


Bruno Spengler ended the season fifth in the Drivers’ Championship, making him

the best-placed BMW driver. He was followed by Marco Wittmann in sixth place



Tom Blomqvist is the fourth BMW driver in a row to win the unofficial title of

“Rookie of the Year”, following in the footsteps of Augusto Farfus (2012), Marco

Wittmann (2013) and Maxime Martin (2014).


The bonnet of Marco Wittmann’s Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM came loose and flew

off on lap eight, following a battle for position. He was forced to retire from the



Tom Blomqvist was handed a drive-through penalty for a collision with Robert

Wickens (CA) on lap 12.

Article Offline Attachments.

Article Media Material.

My.PressClub Login

BMW Group Streaming

Media & Stakeholder Days.

01.09. and 02.09.2023.

Follow our webcasts of the MINI and BMW Group Keynotes at the Media & Stakeholder Days 2023.

Open Streaming Page

Latest Facts & Figures.

BMW Group Report 2022
Corporate Finance, Facts, Figures
Show all

Add your filter tags.

Press Release
Press Kit
Fact & Figures
Submit filter
Clear all