

Media Information BMW M Motorsport 19th January 2022

BMW M Motorsport is approaching the 2022 season with a strong set of drivers.

- BMW M Motorsport is counting on continuity: driver line-up remains largely unchanged.
- 19 BMW M Motorsport works drivers competing in the 2022 season.
- Franciscus van Meel, CEO BMW M GmbH: "Experience, class and continuity."

Munich. BMW M Motorsport is counting on continuity in the driver line-up for the 2022 season. In the coming months, 19 BMW M works drivers will be competing around the world in the new BMW M4 GT3 for a range of BMW M Motorsport teams, and will also play a key role in the testing phase for the new BMW M LMDh. All 19 drivers are already familiar faces from previous years in the BMW M Motorsport family. Their experience and class are particularly crucial for the many new challenges that BMW M Motorsport is facing.

"2022 is a year of numerous new challenges for BMW M Motorsport – so it was all the more important for us to count on experience, class and continuity when selecting the BMW M works drivers," said Franciscus van Meel, CEO of BMW M GmbH. "In the season ahead, the new BMW M4 GT3 will go up against topquality opposition in the world's greatest GT races for the first time. Development and testing of our BMW M LMDh is proceeding apace, with the aim of battling for overall wins at the major classic races in the IMSA series from 2023. For this important project, we need drivers who really know BMW M Motorsport, the cars, the engineers, the race series and circuits, and who can concentrate fully on regularly squeezing the best possible performance from the overall package. We are convinced that we are ready for the 2022 season with our line-up."

Details about the driver allocations for the relevant BMW M Motorsport teams and race series will be announced at a later date.



The BMW M Motorsport driver line-up no longer includes Martin Tomczyk and Maximilian Günther (both GER). Tomczyk has called time on his racing career and is pursuing new professional challenges, while Günther is competing for Nissan in the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship. BMW M Motorsport would like to thank both drivers for the time spent together.

The BMW M Motorsport works drivers 2022 in alphabetical order:

Nick Catsburg (NED)	
Date of birth	15 February 1988
Place of birth	Amersfoort (NED)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2011
Major successes	Victory at 24h Nürburgring 2020,
	Intercontinental GT Champion 2020,
	victory at 24h Spa-Francorchamps
	2015

Jake Dennis (GBR)	
Date of birth	16 June 1995
Place of birth	Nuneaton (GBR)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2021
Major successes	3rd place in Formula E drivers'
	championship 2021, 2nd place at
	Bathurst 12 Hour 2019

Connor De Phillippi (USA)	
Date of birth	25 December 1992
Place of birth	San Clemente (USA)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2018
Major successes	Victory at 24h Daytona 2019, victory at 24h Nürburgring 2017, ADAC GT Masters Champion 2016

Stef Dusseldorp (NED)	
Date of birth	27 September 1989



Place of birth	Winterswijk (NED)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2016
Major successes	6 th place 24h Nürburgring 2021, 5 th
	place 24h Nürburgring 2019, 3 rd
	place FIA GT1 World Championship
	2012

John Edwards (USA)	
Date of birth	11 March 1991
Place of birth	Louisville (USA)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2013
Major successes	Victory at 24h Daytona 2020, GTLM
	drivers' title in IMSA Michelin
	Endurance Cup 2020

Philipp Eng (AUT)	
Date of birth	28 February 1990
Place of birth	Salzburg (AUT)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2016
Major successes	Victory at 24h Daytona 2019, victory
	at 24h Spa-Francorchamps 2016 &
	2018

Augusto Farfus (BRA)	
Date of birth	03 September 1983
Place of birth	Curitiba (BRA)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2007
Major successes	Victory at 24h Daytona 2019 & 2020,
	Intercontinental GT Champion 2020,
	victory at FIA GT World Cup Macau
	2018, victory at 24h Nürburgring
	2010

Timo Glock (GER)	
Date of birth	18 March 1982
Place of birth	Lindenfels (GER)



BMW M Motorsport driver since	2013
Major successes	GP2 Champion 2007, 5 DTM wins, 3
	Formula podiums

Daniel Harper (GBR) – BMW Junior Team	
Date of birth	08 December 2000
Place of birth	Hillsborough (GBR)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2020
Major successes	1 GT4 class win at 24h Nürburgring, 2
	overall wins in Nürburgring
	Endurance Series

Max Hesse (GER) – BMW Junior Team	
Date of birth	23 July 2001
Place of birth	Wernau (GER)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2020
Major successes	1 GT4 class win at 24h Nürburgring, 2
	overall wins in Nürburgring
	Endurance Series

Erik Johansson (SWE)	
Date of birth	16 October 1996
Place of birth	Växjö (SWE)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2019
Major successes	2nd place in Italian GT Championship
	2019, 1 win in ADAC GT Masters

Jens Klingmann (GER)	
Date of birth	16 July 1990
Place of birth	Heidelberg (GER)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2014
Major successes	Champion Formel BMW Deutschland
	2007, 3rd place at 24h Nürburgring
	2020



Jesse Krohn (FIN)	
Date of birth	03 September 1990
Place of birth	Nurmijärvi (FIN)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2014
Major successes	GT Champion in Asian Le Mans
	Series 2017/18, victory at 24h
	Daytona 2020, GTLM drivers' title in
	IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup 2020

Alexander Sims (GBR)	
Date of birth	15 March 1988
Place of birth	London (GBR)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2014
Major successes	Victory at 24h Nürburgring 2020,
	victory at Petit Le Mans 2017, victory
	at 24h Spa-Francorchamps 2016

Bruno Spengler (CAN)	
Date of birth	23 August 1983
Place of birth	Schiltigheim (FRA)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2012
Major successes	DTM Champion 2012, 2nd place at
	24h Daytona 2015, 2nd place at 12h
	Sebring 2016, victory at 6h Road
	Atlanta 2020

Sheldon van der Linde (RSA)	
Date of birth	13 May 1999
Place of birth	Johannesburg (RSA)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2019
Major successes	Victory at 9h Kyalami 2020, 3rd place
	at 24h Nürburgring 2020, 2nd place
	at 24h Nürburgring 2021

Neil Verhagen (USA) – BMW Junior Team	
Date of birth	18 February 2001



Place of birth	Ridgefield (USA)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2020
Major successes	1 GT4 class win at 24h Nürburgring, 2
	overall wins in Nürburgring
	Endurance Series

Marco Wittmann (GER)	
Date of birth	24 November 1989
Place of birth	Fürth (GER)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2012
Major successes	DTM Champion 2014 & 2016, 2nd
	place at 24h Nürburgring 2021, 3rd
	place at 24h Daytona 2021

Nick Yelloly (GBR)	
Date of birth	03 December 1990
Place of birth	Stafford (GBR)
BMW M Motorsport driver since	2019
Major successes	Victory at 24h Nürburgring 2020, 2nd
	place at 8h Indianapolis 2020

Media Contact.

Andrea Schwab

Spokesperson BMW M Phone: +49 (0) 151 601 60988 E-mail: <u>Andrea.Schwab@bmw.de</u>

Martin Schleypen

Spokesperson BMW M Phone: +49 (0) 151 601 37889 E-mail: <u>Martin.Schleypen@bmwgroup.com</u>

Media Website.

http://www.press.bmwgroup.com/global



BMW M Motorsport on the web.

Website: www.bmw-motorsport.com Facebook: www.facebook.com/bmwmotorsport Instagram: www.instagram.com/bmwmotorsport YouTube: www.youtube.com/bmwmotorsport Twitter: www.twitter.com/bmwmotorsport