Do you need help? Please contact our support team from 9 to 17 CET via

PressClub USA · Article.


Matt Lee (Team Autotecnica) was declared the winner of today's Round 4 race at Lime Rock Park after Simona de Silvestro (EuroInternational) was excluded following post-race technical inspection.

National Motorsports

Press Contact.

Roy Oliemuller
BMW Group

Tel: +1-201-307-4082
Fax: +1-201-573-8416

send an e-mail


Attachments(1x, ~239 KB)

Matt Lee Wins Round 4 after de Silvestro disqualified

Lakeville, Conn. - May 29, 2006... Matt Lee (Team Autotecnica) was declared the
winner of today's Round 4 race at Lime Rock Park after Simona de Silvestro
(EuroInternational) was excluded following post-race technical inspection. De
Silvestro, the runner-up in Saturday's Round 3 race and front row starter
today, took the lead from polesitter Lee on lap 4. She held him at bay for the
remaining 21 laps of the 30-minute contest around the 1.53-mile Lime Rock
circuit. The race ended under yellow following a spin by Scott Schroeder which
left him high sided on curbing on lap 19. Following de Silvestro's
disqualification, Round 2 winner Daniel Morad (AIM Autosport) moved up to
second. John Zartarian (Gelles Racing) took over the third position. Sebastian
Saavedra (Gelles Racing) set the fastest lap of the race (52.259 seconds) on
lap 20.

A total of five drivers gave their season-best performances. In addition to
Lee, Maxime Pelletier (Gelles Racing) finished fourth, Jordan Dick (Team Apex
Racing USA) finished seventh, Phillip Major (Atlantic Racing Team) finished
10th and Joel Jackson (Gelles Racing) finished 15th.

IMSA's Race Director excluded de Silvestro's car for a non-compliant part.
EuroInternational filed an official protest and following a protest hearing the
IMSA Stewards upheld the decision. An appeal by the team may follow.

Robert Wickens (Team Apex Racing USA) leads the Overall points, with Morad
second and Reed Stevens (HBR Motorsport Team USA) third. Saavedra leads Morad
in the Rookie points. David Garza (EuroInternational) stands third.

The top finishing Rookies were Morad (P2), Maxime Pelletier (P4), Jordan Dick
(P7), Saavedra (P9) and Robert Thorne (P14).

Lee said, "Definitely, I want to continue these strong finishes. I had the pole
position, finished second - now declared the winner. It was a long race with 25
laps and one mistake allowed Simona to pass me. I raced really hard and will
continue this strategy in the next Rounds when we race in Montreal and
Indianapolis. Of course I would like to win, but definitely a podium finish
should be possible."

Morad said, "I am very happy with my podium finish. I like the race track a
lot. It fits my style almost perfectly. It is a little bit bumpy, but I don't
really mind as it is more to my advantage." Regarding the next Rounds in
support of the Canadian Grand Prix he added, "Montreal is almost my home track
- it is about five hours away from home - and a lot of my friends and family
will be there and watching."

The 2006 Formula BMW USA championship takes a three-week break before the four
most popular rounds of the year take place in support of the Canadian Grand
Prix on June 23 - 25 and the United Stated Grand Prix on June 30 - July 2.

Round 4 - Results (25 laps)
1 Matt Lee Team Autotecnica 25:19.067
2 Daniel Morad (R) AIM Autosport 25:19.362
3 John Zartarian Gelles Racing 25:20.297
4 Maxime Pelletier (R) Gelles Racing 25:20.889
5 Race Johnson HBR Motorsport Team USA 25:21.733
6 Robert Wickens Team Apex Racing USA 25:22.470
7 Jordan Dick (R) Team Apex Racing USA 25:23.165
8 Adrien Herberts Gelles Racing 25:23.893
9 Sebastian Saavedra (R) Gelles Racing 25:23.993
10 Philip Major Atlantic Racing Team 25:24.793
11 Reed Stevens HBR Motorsport Team USA 25:26.426
12 Ryan Campbell Gelles Racing 25:27.404
13 Doug Boyer AIM Autosport 25:28.894
14 Robert Thorne (R) Team Autotecnica 25:30.346
15 Joel Jackson (R) Gelles Racing 25:32.151
16 David Garza (R) EuroInternational 25:32.348
17 Frankie Muniz Jensen Motorsport 25:33.529
18 Steven Guerrero (R) HBR Motorsport Team USA 25:34.373
19 Ryan Phinny Hearn Motorsports 25:35.014
20 Jules Duc Hearn Motorsports 25:36.201
21 Marco Santos Haberfeld & Walker Racing 25:37.069
22 Yannick Hofman HBR Motorsport Team USA 25:39.767
23 Scott Schroeder American Spirit Grand Prix 19 laps
24 David Rangel Haberfeld & Walker Racing 0 laps
25 David Farias (R) Jensen Motorsport DNS
26 Simona de Silvestro EuroInternational Excluded*

*Excluded for violation of 5.19 and 5.4.2 Formula BMW USA regulations

Championship points after 4 of 14 races:
1. Robert Wickens (Team Apex Racing USA, 41), 2. Daniel Morad (AIM Autosport,
35), 3. Reed Stevens (HBR Motorsport Team USA, 32), 4. John Zartarian (Gelles
Racing, 30), 5. Matt Lee (Autotecnica, 25), 6. Simona de Silvestro
(EuroInternational, 25), 7. David Garza (EuroInternational, 25), 8. Race
Johnson (HBR Motorsport Team USA, 24), 9. Sebastian Saavedra (Gelles Racing,
22), 10. Adrien Herberts (Gelles Racing, 19), 11. Maxime Pelletier (Gelles
Racing, 14), 12. Ryan Campbell (Gelles Racing, 10), 13. Doug Boyer (AIM
Autosport, 8), 14. Scott Schroeder (American Spirit Grand Prix, 6), 15. Jordan
Dick (Team Apex Racing USA, 6), 16. Robert Thorne (Team Autotecnica, 4), 17.
Philip Major (Atlantic Racing Team, 1), 18. Ryan Phinny (Hearn Motorsports, 0),
19. Jules Duc (Hearn Motorsports, 0), 20. Yannick Hofman (HBR Motorsport Team
USA, 0), 21. Marco Santos (Haberfeld & Walker Racing, 0), 22. Steven Guerrero
(HBR Motorsport Team USA, 0), 23. David Rangel (Haberfeld & Walker Racing, 0),
24. David Farias (Jensen Motorsport, 0), 24. Frankie Muniz (Jensen Motorsport,
0), 26. Joel Jackson (Gelles Racing, 0)

Rookies: 1. Sebastian Saavedra (60), 2. Daniel Morad (51), 3. David Garza (51),
4. Maxime Pelletier (45), 5. Robert Thorne (38), 6. Jordan Dick (34), 7. Steven
Guerrero (17), 8. Joel Jackson (16)

Formula BMW is the world's leading entry-level class in Formula racing. In 2006
the series will be held in Germany, the UK, Asia and the USA. Up-and-coming
drivers as young as 15-years old are given the opportunity of entering motor
racing with the high-tech, standard FB02 race car.

The FB02 race car has been seen on the grid since 2002 and has set standards
particularly on the safety technology front. The single-seater is powered by a
140 bhp BMW engine, reaching speeds up to 140 mph and exceeds the FIA safety
requirements for its class. BMW Motorsport has developed the FORS (Formula
Rescue Race Seat) especially for Formula BMW. The HANS (Head and Neck Support)
safety system is also mandatory.

In 2006, Formula BMW will occur five times as a support series to Formula One
races. All of the international series offer a multifaceted Education and
Coaching Program as well as sponsorship for promising racing talents. The
best-known alumni are Formula One drivers Ralf Schumacher, Christian Klien and
Nico Rosberg.

BMW Motorsport Director, Mario Theissen, "Formula BMW offers talented young
drivers more than just a car. In the Education and Coaching Program we have
designed specially for them, they learn everything they need to know to hold
their own in the world of motor racing. Formula BMW has become one of the top
entry-level classes for Formula racing worldwide."

From November 24 to 26, 2006 the Circuit de la Comunitat Valenciana Ricardo
Tormo will host the second Formula BMW World Final. Young racing drivers from
the four regional Formula BMW series will compete against each other. The
winner will get a test drive with the BMW Sauber F1 Team.

Article Offline Attachments.

My.PressClub Login

BMW Group Streaming.

A New Mobility Alliance.

BERLIN. The new mobility alliance between BMW Group and Daimler AG. Find out more about the partnership and see the webcast of the Event.

open streaming site

Add your filter tags.

Press Release
Press Kit
Fact & Figures
Submit filter
Clear all