Do you need help? Please contact our support team from 9 to 17 CET via

PressClub Canada · Article.

Heart-stopping finale at anniversary tournament.

Yingying Chung, Shaofan Liu and Mingchen Kao (Republic of China) win the 30th BMW Golf Cup International World Final in South Africa.

BMW Golf Cup International

Press Contact.

Belcourt Marc
BMW Group

Tel: 905-428-5078

send an e-mail


Attachments(1x, ~151.63 KB)
Photos(16x, ~40.55 MB)
  • Tied after 162 holes: Republic of China wins on countback ahead of South Africa at the Fancourt Golf Resort.
  • In the individual categories, Yingying Chung (Republic of China, Ladies), Anthony Struik (Australia, Men A) and Neil Cronin (United Kingdom, Men B) win at the highlight of the greatest international tournament series for amateur golfers.
  • Special guest Colin Montgomerie (Scotland) thrills the participants from 31 countries with the Ryder Cup trophy, holds a golf clinic and presents the trophies.
  • Montgomerie: “The World Final has everything that I love about our fantastic sport.”

George. The 30th BMW Golf Cup International World Final took place this week. The very best of around 100,000 participating amateur golfers had qualified for the event. In the idyllic surroundings of the Fancourt Golf Resort (George, South Africa), they experienced an unforgettable week that was rounded off by one of the most exciting conclusions in the long history of this popular competition: the teams from Republic of China and South Africa were neck and neck in the team standings, which add up the results in the three individual categories. After application of the countback procedure (over the last 36, 18, 9, 6, 3, 1 holes), it was the Republic of China that received the winner’s trophy from Colin Montgomerie at the gala dinner to conclude the tournament.

“Congratulations to the players from Republic of China on their victory at the 30th BMW Golf Cup International. This is a fantastic achievement and we are delighted to have such worthy champions as we celebrate this milestone anniversary,” said Jörn Plinke, Head of BMW Golfsport Marketing. “This year’s World Final once again showed why the largest international tournament series continues to inspire so many people around the world, even after three decades: amateur golf in professional conditions, unique experiences and, above all, friendship, mutual respect and the joy of sharing a common interest. This is what golf should be about.”

In the idyllic surroundings of the Fancourt Golf Resort, sheltered by the Outeniqua Mountains, the teams from Republic of China and South Africa scored a total of 293 points (Stableford, net), while third place was claimed by Team Australia (284).

Underlining how everyone involved could feel like winners, no matter how much they had wanted to top the standings, golfing legend Colin Montgomerie delighted guests by bringing the Ryder Cup trophy to the gala dinner. “The BMW Golf Cup International World Final is a golf event second to none,” said Montgomerie. “It’s an honour to have been invited and to witness the camaraderie, spirit and passion shown by dedicated amateur golfers from all around the globe. The World Final has everything that I love about our fantastic sport. Fancourt once again delivered the perfect surroundings for the special kind of premium event BMW is famous for throughout the golfing world. Congratulations, BMW, on the 30th anniversary of the World Final and thank you for everything you have done for the game of golf!”

In the Ladies category (HCP to 28), Yingying Chung (110) emerged victorious ahead of Makoto Nagai (Japan, 108) and Dily Ng (Singapore, 98). Anthony Struik (Australia, 100) enjoyed a clearer margin of victory in Men A (to HCP 12). The countback procedure was also required here to break the tie for second place in favour of Jannie van Breda. The South African and Kean Su Lem (Singapore) had both scored 96 net points after three tournament rounds.

The decision in Men B (HCP 13-28) was unbelievably tight: just two points separated first and fifth places. Victory went to Neil Cronin (United Kingdom, 104), followed by Mohamed Suliman (South Africa, 104) and Vincent Misuraca (Australia, 103). Matthieu Billmann (France, 102) and Alexander Feistl (Germany, 102) finished in fourth and fifth positions.

Article Offline Attachments.

Article Media Material.

My.PressClub Login

BMW Group Streaming


Munich. 17 and 18 March 2021.

Here you can see the live webcasts of the Annual Conference 2021 with the Media Day and the Analyst and Investor Day.


Open Streaming Page

Add your filter tags.

Press Release
Press Kit
Fact & Figures
Submit filter
Clear all